University of the Philippines Los Baños
Tuesday, 10 October 2017 17:12

UPLB, UPLBAA honor outstanding alumni

UPLB Alumni Association (UPLBAA) President For. Leo R. Ballesfin said they have reached the pinnacle of success; Chancellor Fernando C. Sanchez, Jr., called them the living proof of how UPLB shapes change-makers in society.

For. Ballesfin and Chancellor Sanchez refer to the 52 alumni who were recognized as UPLB’s 2017 Alumni Awardees during the 99th Loyalty Day and Alumni Homecoming on Oct. 9 at Baker Hall.

Leading the awardees were UP Regent Francis C. Laurel (BSA ’70) and Ramon Magsaysay Laureate Dr. Romulo G. Davide (BSA ’57), recipients of UPLBAA Presidential and Nelia T. Gonzalez Service Awards, respectively.

UPLB awardees

Three Outstanding Golden Jubilarians from Class ’67; 14 Outstanding UPLB Alumni Awardees; and 37 College Distinguished Alumni were also recognized at the event. The awardees are leaders and achievers in government and public service, education, science and technology, business, and international development. 

Four families were also given the Multi-Generation UPLB Alumni Family Recognition: the Bautista, Lantican, Habito, and Barroga-Jamias Families.

In his message of response on behalf of the awardees, Regent Laurel, who graduated magna cum laude as an agricultural business major, acknowledged the beginning of his success to the time that he studied in UPLB.

Regent Laurel

“I am grateful for the education that I received from this great center of education,” Regent Laurel said. “UPLB taught me the values of excellence and honor. These two have become the centerpiece of my life. I have viewed them as guides in all my decisions and strategic plans. Honor and excellence have become my formula for success.”

Regent Laurel, a holder of a Master of Business Administration from the Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University, USA, is the president of YKK Philippines, Inc., the Philippines-Japan Society, Inc., Toyota Batangas, Inc., and Toyota Camarines Sur, Inc. He was appointed to the UP BOR by President Rodrigo R. Duterte on Nov. 14, 2016.

After the awarding ceremonies, the jubilarians, or those who graduated in the years ending in 2 and 7, showcased their talents in a special program. (Mark Jayson E. Gloria)