University of the Philippines Los Baños
Friday, 08 September 2017 13:16

UPLB alumni get UPAA awards

UPLBUPAA awardees2017

Three from UPLB were recognized as distinguished alumni by the UP Alumni Association (UPAA) at the UP Grand Alumni Homecoming on Aug. 19 at the Ang Bahay ng Alumni, UP Diliman, Quezon City.

They are Dr. Mimosa Cortez-Ocampo (BS Home Technology ’67 and MS Community Development ’76); Cesar Mario O. Mamon, (BS Agricultural Business ’76); and Dr. Juanito P. Abilay (BS Agriculture ’58).

Dr. Ocampo received the UPAA Distinguished Alumni Award for Women Empowerment through Rural Development. UPAA acknowledged her initiatives in empowering women through education and leadership training and gender mainstreaming in project planning and sustainable development, microenterprises, and credit cooperatives. She is a retired professor at the College of Public Affairs and Development and former director of the Office of Alumni Relations (OAR).

Meanwhile, Mamon was given the UPAA Distinguished Alumni Award in Entrepreneurship and Employment Creation.  He is the founder and president of the theme park Enchanted Kingdom. His years of leadership have helped improve and create jobs in the tourism industry in Laguna. He is the first Filipino to be elected chairman to the International Association of Amusement Parks and the founder of the Philippine Association of Amusement Parks and Attractions.

Dr. Abilay, on the other hand, received the UPAA Distinguished Service Award for an Alumnus. He was awarded for his leadership and contributions to two UP alumni associations in Northern California: the UPLB Alumni Group in America, where he served as founding vice president; and the UP Alumni Association of Central California, where he eventually served as its president.

The Distinguished Alumni Awards was established to recognize UP alumni who have shown distinction in their profession and have given valuable service to the country.

Present during the awarding ceremony were Dr. Sue Liza C. Saguiguit, director of OAR; Dr. Raden G. Piadozo, dean of the College of Human Ecology; Dr. Luis Rey I. Velasco, former chancellor; and For. Leo R. Ballesfin, president of the UPLB Alumni Association. (Jessa Jael S. Arana, with information from the 2017 UPAA Yearbook: Itanghal ang Dangal.)